Living Isolated

June 20, 2008 at 8:56 am Leave a comment

I have truly loved living here in Shark Bay for the last bit over a year but I have to say there are times when it drives me to frustration.

It is a very quaint little seaside town in a World Heritage Listed Area. There are stunning shallow turquoise beaches, all sorts of Marine life is regularly seen and it is a safe clean environment to bring Sabre up in. However since starting up Ollie Rose I find the lack of shopping very hard. There are 2 small supermarkets here both with about 4 tiny aisles…about equivalent to 2 aisles in a big Coles or Woolies. The choices of food is very limited but I sorta have gotten used to that. Fresh food costs a lot more…broccoli is $11kg, lettuces usually $3…and half the time the freshness is very dubious. But as  I said I am used to that now and the shops are very good about getting things in for you if you want something in particular….problem with that however is I am usually not organised enough until I go to make something and realise that I cant get that particular ingredient in town. We try to buy bulk dry items when we go to Geraldton or Carnarvon which are 4 and 3 hours respectively away so that is only about every 2 or 3 months.

Apart from the supermarkets there is a chemist/post office/newsagent one stop shop, a gorgeous little gift store and Pearl Jewellery shop and that is about it!

As far as any sort of sewing or craft items, forget it! Therefore I need to be as organised as I can and try to think ahead. It drives me crazy when I am halfway through sewing something and I realise I haven’t got the right coloured cotton and I cant just pop down to the shops to get it. I have to rely on my poor family to get it and pop it in the post for me. Luckily they are only overnight or 2 day post away. It does mean however that every time I need something I have to add $4 or $5 postage onto it. Sigh…I would love to live in a regional centre or city with all the shirt wholesalers, fabric wholesalers, haberdashery stores etc right there so I could pop down and peruse at my leisure. Though with the sacrifices of not having all that we do have a enjoyable relaxed lifestyle here.

If only there was  city an hour a way, then I could have the best of both worlds!

Entry filed under: Ollie Rose Life.

Bow Wow Vintage Finds

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Ollie Rose! Bringing you unique, funky and quality handmade baby and children's clothing, toys and accessories from around the world.

Recent Posts

Please do not take any of our original photos or designs without permission.  Feel free to link back to here however.  Thanks for understanding.


