Working Conditions

July 18, 2008 at 7:22 am Leave a comment

I often get asked how do I manage to get any work done with a toddler in the house with me all day. Well some days nothing gets done but playdoh, paint, feeding and averting tantrums all day and other days Sabre is very good at playing on her own and keeping herself amused.

I sort of go with the whole theory of let her do what she likes as long as it is safe and it means I get 15 minutes to do something. The house can look like a disaster zone as I let her and sometimes encourage her to get into everything to get just 5 mintues to do something.

I work in dribs and drabs throughout the day when she is awake but most of the sewing gets done during her afternoon nap and at night time.

Most mornings start with me checking emails and packing up any orders in amongst making toast, bathing Sabre, drinking copious amounts of tea and having breakfast. Sabre is then allowed to watch Playschool which gives me a good half an hour as she is glued to that show. Once we have that days orders ready for posting we head off to the post office. For the remainder of her wake time if there is no playgorup, story time or morning teas on and I have work that needs doing I set her up with an activity, usually drawing, playdoh or watering plants with the watering can.

If all else fails and she is in a clingy mood she HELPS me sew by sitting on my lap and as I go I remove pins and it is her job to put them in the pin cushion. This is her most favourtie job! She knows they are sharp and to be careful but she tediously picks up each one and pops it in the cushion saying “there…did it” as she goes. Other times she will sit on my lap and watch the machine go sucking her thumb and having a cuddle.

Some days however I have to give up completely on getting much work done at all but I don’t mind as I have to have my days off too so we use those days to take advantage of a nice walk down town or spend the day looking for “boflies” (butterflies).

Kobie

Entry filed under: Ollie Rose Life. Tags: , , , .

The King……. and some extra cool booties! Psssst……… wanna be the first to find out when these goodies arrive?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Ollie Rose! Bringing you unique, funky and quality handmade baby and children's clothing, toys and accessories from around the world.

Recent Posts

Please do not take any of our original photos or designs without permission.  Feel free to link back to here however.  Thanks for understanding.


