August 13, 2008 at 8:32 am 3 comments

Finally a hint of spring in the air! The days here in the Bay have fined up making it the most inspiring weather for getting outdoors. Today Sabre and I planted some cherry tomato seedlings much to her delight. What fun getting to slosh in mud as she helped me pat them down. Our tiny vegie patch really isn’t much to look at. Living so close to the beach gives us very sandy soil but with a touch of manure and a few in pots they seem to do ok. We got a nice little crop last year and hope for the same this year. I actually don’t even like tomatoes unless it is cooked but the reason I grow them is because they always do well and I do like them on homemade pizza. Growing alongside them are the Basil plants which have reseeded from last year and starting to look a little worse for wear again. Unfortunately with the poor soils and little time that is all I have put in this year. I have a few pot plants to rehash and move around but that will be about the extent of my spring gardening. I do miss the Kimberley climate for growing amazing plants in the shortest amount of time.

 
I also wanted to share some pics of some of the prettiest wildflowers that are in flower in the bushland here. I had thought it was what people referred to as the Tamala Rose Bush after Tamala station in the Shark Bay region but have since found out that is another species. I am yet to find out this ones name, and for all I know it could be a wild weed! however it is very pretty and I enjoy seeing it on the bush block over the road from me.
On the highway back home from Geraldton this week I kept wanting to stop and photograph all the other beautiful wild flowers but was in that frame of mind of just getting there as soon as I could. Next time!
 
So with the spring breeze teasing the air I have been enjoying putting the Ollie Rose bird on everything in sight! With the mix of fabrics there are a million possibilities for him and his does look oh so cute. I am itching to show you beautiful inspiring fabrics and designs so stay tuned for part 2 of this spring is in the air post. Stay tuned…
Kobie

 

 

Entry filed under: Ollie Rose Life. Tags: , , , , , , .

August Competition Pretty in Posies

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marnie  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:40 am

    Yep. Loooks like a weed.

    Reply
  • 2. Kobie  |  August 19, 2008 at 6:26 am

    But oh such a pretty weed! Gonna ask my DEC friends next time I see them! Emu’s are back in town. 2 were just on our front lawn.

    Reply
  • 3. ollierose  |  September 2, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Oh dear……..seems you were right Marnie. It is a weed!
    Ruby Dock! (Acetosa vesicaria)
    hmmm stil a very pretty weed! And probably the most poplular weed around by the amount of tourists that stop and take pictures of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Ollie Rose! Bringing you unique, funky and quality handmade baby and children's clothing, toys and accessories from around the world.

Recent Posts

Please do not take any of our original photos or designs without permission.  Feel free to link back to here however.  Thanks for understanding.


