Unfinished Business

November 10, 2008 at 6:59 am 4 comments

Well it has been a few days of getting some projects out of the too hard basket and finishing them. Others will probably remain there until infinity. I have 2 big baskets full of skirts, dresses, tees and toys that I have have started and not finished for one reason or another. Some need fixing, others didn’t hold my interest. They all go into the basket to look at another day. Sadly that day hardly ever comes.

I did however manage to finish this personalised piece of art for little Miss’room. Now I had cut all this out over 8 months ago and had it sitting in the frame all at the bottom of my too hard basket because I wanted to change a few pieces. I did have plans of making the font a bit fancier and changing the papers I used but if I waited to do that it really wouldn’t have ever made it out of the too hard basket. I still like the way it turned out and I will probably change it once we redo her room for her big girl bed anyway. It has her name and date of birth underneath (blurred out)

sabre-collage

blog-collage

I have another 2 frames the same. One I will keep for a rainy day or maybe make another one for someone else and the other I am working on another 3D picture for the living area. Just need to wait for lovely husband to dig out the wire cutters for me from the hell that is the back storeroom!

Something else I found at the bottom of my basket was this sweet quilt…another project about 9months old. (the basket is almost historically dated due to layers-layer 12 is about 9 months old, layer 13 10months and so on!) This is a very pretty little quilt, perfect play mat or stroller size. I got mum to piece all the charm squares together and all I was supposed to do was edge it and back it but unfortunately it got put in my basket and there it has remained. Really must get back to this one. Seeing it again has made me fall back in love with it. From memory it was Moda Spring??

blog-quilt

And then there is the spare room where all the magic happens. Now a few weeks back I showed what a disaster it was looking like since returning from holidays. I had hoped by now that I would be able to post gorgeous pics of a studio a bit like these:

pottery-barn

img48

Pics of Pottery Barn Study Spaces…oh to have access to this stuff!

Unfortunatley it is nothing like that. Still just like the original just tidier. We havent unpacked the new desk, chair or storage boxes as there is a possible house move on the horizon so we figure we will just wait. I have made the space tidier and there is more order but nothing worthy of pics yet. So continue to stay tuned for that one!

Kobie

Entry filed under: Ollie Rose Life, Toys & Fun Things. Tags: , , , , .

What to do with a little bird? Cookie Monster

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  November 11, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Love the butterfly hanging! where’d you get the frame? I vote for the red studio..and when you’re done you can come over mine and set up one for me 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Kylie  |  November 11, 2008 at 1:57 am

    I am pleased to hear that I am not the only one with baskets of UFO’s looking at me from the other side of the room.

    Oh to have a work area like those – I would be in heaven!

    Reply
  • 3. Ollie Rose  |  November 11, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Aren’t those work spaces gorgeous! The only problem would be that poor husband and child would be severely neglected….I would be tempted to spend all day every day in there!

    Reply
  • 4. ollierose  |  November 11, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Sara-the frames are from a home store in Darwin. Poor Dan thought I was mad trying to pack 3 of these into my suitcase, they then have been sitting in my closet for over 2 years waiting for something to be done with them! I really should have just purchased them when we moved down here instead of insisting I needed them then and there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Ollie Rose! Bringing you unique, funky and quality handmade baby and children's clothing, toys and accessories from around the world.

Recent Posts

Please do not take any of our original photos or designs without permission.  Feel free to link back to here however.  Thanks for understanding.


