Blog This Challenge 7 – Fifteen Facts

July 7, 2009 at 5:47 am 3 comments

Tell us fifteen facinating, far fetched, frightening, funny or frivilous facts about yourself. Those bits of trivia that are floating around in your life.

Can you eat 10 burgers in one sitting? Do you sleep with your eyes open? Can you tie a cherry stalk into a knot? Speak 5 different languages?

All those things that you’ve bored your friends and family with for years – We want to know.

I missed the last two previous Blog This challenges.  Even though I wanted to join in, I blinked and the time was gone.  I am a little scared of this one, do I want to admit some of the trivia in connection with myself, because admittedly most of the weird, funny, strange things that have happened to me happened in my young carefree days.

Fact #1  I cannot stand creamy foods, urggh they make me gag, if I even get a little bit on my skin it makes me gag and my skin crawl.

Fact #2 I wander my garden every single day.  Yup every day I walk the path to the chooks and stop and admire every plant on my way down and check it’s growth.  Sometimes just sit down the back staring at my plants.

IMG_2522

Fact #3  Giving birth left me on a zimmerframe.  After the birth of my first son I had a condition called Diastais Symphasis Pubis which is basically a separation of my pelvis.  It meant I couldn’t walk unaided for some time.    DH at the same time tore his Achilles tendon and we left hospital together, one in a wheelchair the other on a frame.

Leaving Hospital

Fact #4   I love dress ups.  I have quite an extensive Op Shop collection of various outfits.  Every 2 months we have theme dinner parties with friends where everyone must dress up in an outfit from the theme country.

Fact #5   I am a scavenger.  I inherited this from my grandfather, I love recycling things.  I can be found out the recycling yard at the rubbish dump tutting at all the good things thrown out and have been known to grab something from the curbside throw out (my most recent a gorgeous wooden dolls cot)

Fact #6 I owned an orange and white Datsun 180B it was my first car and only had an AM radio.  It was super cool.  My Uncle gave it to me for completing Year 12 and my Grandpop fixed it up for me.  She lasted many years!

16ea_1

Fact #7  My first job was as as a fast food chick at Red Rooster.  I worked there for over 4 years and can cut a chicken in quarters under pressure.

Fact #8  My favourite band as a teenager was Indecent Obsession!  Sad I know, but what is even sadder is I still have the posters that adorned my wall.

Fact #9  Dolly Parton is my favourite all time singer, and if I could sing like anyone it would be like her.  I have a closet country and western obsession and once went out with a cowboy who wore bad shirts and rode bulls in the rodeo.

Fact #10  I have a salt & pepper collection which was my grandma’s and sits in a big cabinet in my lounge room.  It has hundreds of novelty salt & pepper shakers my Grandma collected over many years and as children she would pay us $1 to dust them all.

overstock-cactus-salt-pepper-shakers

Fact #11  I can fit 54 bits of popcorn in my mouth and eat 12 tacos in one sitting.  Interesting facts I discovered about myself whilst being a broke backpacker with nothing to do.

Fact #12  I have lived on soup for every meal for one month, another backpacker moment, it was not through choice however.

Fact #13    I have bungee jumped and also completed a free fall sky dive on my own.

Fact#14    I have always wanted to get married in Las Vegas in a chapel with James Brown singing the entire service and Elvis making an appearance somewhere.

415297112_c6582cfdff

Fact #15   I am not a shoe person.  If someone creates some thongs suitable for winter I would be a very happy woman.  I probably own 4 pairs of shoes.  I stress when I have to go out somewhere that means I can’t wear comfy thongs and usually have to borrow shoes from my sister.

Jemma

Entry filed under: Ollie Rose Life, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Introducing ……… Etsy Treasury

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sara  |  July 8, 2009 at 2:28 am

    hehe – crazy barfoot, tip scouring, garden staring, cowboy stalking lady

    Reply
  • 2. Nikki  |  July 9, 2009 at 12:37 am

    The salt and pepper thing is cool! If you ever go to Leura in the blue mountains, they have a teapot museum there which has a huge collection of salt and pepper shakers.. You’d like it I think.

    I am the same with shoes! If they aren’t converse sneakers or Dr Marten 10 hole boots, I don’t wear them!

    Reply
  • 3. Marnie  |  July 9, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Leave my shoes alone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Ollie Rose! Bringing you unique, funky and quality handmade baby and children's clothing, toys and accessories from around the world.

Recent Posts

Please do not take any of our original photos or designs without permission.  Feel free to link back to here however.  Thanks for understanding.


