I don’t recommend it

April 15, 2010 at 1:05 am Leave a comment

My goodness what a month it has been. Moving interstate and travelling over 4000km in a month with a young baby…I don’t recommend it! Talk about a month of your life just disappearing in a haze of boxes, cleaning old houses,  looooooooooooooooong phone calls to get yourself back online, trying to get my brain to remember who else I need to notify of changes of address … let alone the whole baby thing. Poor little thing was often fed on the go then got passed off to any other hands that were around or popped in the bouncer so I could race off and do the next job.

Thank goodness Ollie Rose was able to just survive. Luckily Jemma could keep the online side going and between each other with hundreds of texts and phone calls we managed. Amazing how much you miss email when you don’t have it.

Also just taking in the emotion that I have moved even further from family at a time that I would really like to be living closer to them has hit me too. Don’t get me wrong I am very happy to be in lovely Darwin it is just that I have been on a roller coaster of being terribly exited to terribly nervous to just plain numb wondering and hoping that we have done the right thing. Then poor little Esmae has been a bit unsettled. We are still trying to figure each other out and I am sure she has no idea what is going on and where she actually lives after all the homes we have stayed in for her short life. Sabre is coping well at least. She is at a great age that she is also finding it exciting and possibly not realising how permanent it is. She does say on a regular basis however that she misses Carnarvon and her friends and I have to agree with her but then we just talk about all the great new friends we will make and all the things to do here.

Living in a city itself is so busy! Doing anything is taking much longer and the distraction of the shops is still magnetic for me! Loving the shops but hoping the novelty will wear off soon or my bank will be hunting me down. Driving….makes me nervous thinking about it. Having never lived in a city and never driven in one much at all I get major hear palpitations when I set off on the road. I did buy a navigator which is helping. That is probably funny to people who have lived in cities and know that Darwin really is quite small and easy to get around but without it I wouldn’t be going anywhere 🙂

I probably need to remember this:

Maybe I could stick a set of these magnets to my rear vision mirror!

Anyway the house is mostly unpacked but the Ollie Rose studio is a bit of a mess still. All the stock has been neatly displayed and the fabrics folded and stacked but as for all the other bits and pieces of who knows what………well I am hoping the magic fairies will just pop in one night and tuck them all neatly away for me. Not much actual creating getting done yet but I am getting itchy fingers so it wont be long. We have a tonne of new stuff in the pipeline so it is just a matter of getting back into the swing of things over the next few weeks. Lots of lovely new things from across the globe have made their way to our new home however and we are delighted to be stocking them.

So I am finally pleased to say we are here and that things are getting back on track and can’t wait to update you with more soon….after those fairies have been of course. [wink]

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

She’s back Barley & Birch Special

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Ollie Rose! Bringing you unique, funky and quality handmade baby and children's clothing, toys and accessories from around the world.

Recent Posts

Please do not take any of our original photos or designs without permission.  Feel free to link back to here however.  Thanks for understanding.


