Around my garden

October 5, 2010 at 10:07 am Leave a comment

With all the sickness in our house once again, it has made me want to get down in the vegie garden and put a bit of work into it, so we have more fresh vegies and herbs over summer.  Usually I let it die off in summer as with the hot winds, it takes a bit too much work to keep it looking as lovely.

We have an abundance of carrots and celery at the moment so I have been hunting out tasty vegetable juice recipes so I can try and get as many vegies into Ari as I can. I am not a huge juice person, so am finding it quite hard working out what combinations may be nice for him.

 

Our lemon tree is situated in the chook pens and we are always trying to give away lemons as we can’t keep up.

The herb pot took a real beating in the warm weather whilst we were away, but the mint is doing great.  Perfect in summer salads for extra zing.

The carrots don’t grow very big around here, mainly as the kids pull them out a bit too early!

The corn is going great guns again this year, so am hoping for a nice crop this year – love corn.

And lastly I have to share a picture of my rosemary bush.  I have had the same bush for about 10 years now, it has been transplanted at every house we have lived in. It was given to me as a small cutting by my very dear neighbour and friend in Toodyay, Mrs Bee.  It is absolutely huge now.  If only I was able to show her now.

Speaking of vegies, I had better hop off and start the vegie stirfry we are having for tea.

Jemma

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Darwin Break Winner – September Subscription Competition

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to Ollie Rose! Bringing you unique, funky and quality handmade baby and children's clothing, toys and accessories from around the world.

Please do not take any of our original photos or designs without permission.  Feel free to link back to here however.  Thanks for understanding.